National truck dealership exiting Texas, blames state regulations (Arrow)

Discussion in 'Other News' started by Opus, Jun 8, 2023.

1. Opus

Opus Road Train Member

Dec 18, 2011
    South GA
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. ZVar

ZVar Road Train Member

Sep 10, 2010
    Flint, MI
    Probably not. The law has been in effect for 10 or so years, it's just Arrow had an exemption that ran out. What I'm seeing is at least some Freightliner dealerships are franchises so the law doesn't apply. For example Penske owns 25 Freightliner dealerships.

BennysPennys Thanks this.
  4. Opus

Opus Road Train Member

Dec 18, 2011
    South GA
    Right. So so long as the manufacturer doesn't own the store, it's ok. Seems like a good move would have been to franchise out over the last 10 years. But, hey, what do I know. I'm just a truck driver.

5. Studebaker Hawk

Studebaker Hawk Road Train Member

Oct 18, 2010
    NW Indiana
    This is the Texas Automobile Dealers Association (Texas Automobile Dealers Association | Home) hard at work
    They are lobbying feverishly to prevent the likes of Tesla, Ford, and many other manufacturers who want to ditch the old dealer network sales model in favor of direct sales to consumers.
    No different that NATSO (National Association of Truck Stop Operators) who have been putting their members above the needs of truckdrivers and the public for decades.

6. Grumppy

Grumppy Trucker Forum STAFF Staff Member

Dec 11, 2010
    West Monroe, La
    I don't believe this is the reason. They're mad about something else & just want to get outta Texas. They could just let Jim Bob open a dealership & sell him the trucks or let him sell them on consignment etc, just like the car manufactures do.