Need Advice

Discussion in 'Motor Carrier Questions - The Inside Scoop' started by thirteen, Nov 28, 2007.

1. thirteen

thirteen Bobtail Member

Nov 20, 2007
    Texas
    Basically I have been stalking these forums trying to solve my dilemma. However, I haven't found that perfect solution I was looking for (as if it truly existed). I worked for deBoer just after training and was only there 3 months which limits me all around. Not only do I have little experience but I was in an autoshift truck as well, which I liked by the way.

I trained in a 10-Speed so Im not completely oblivious to how it goes, I aced all the testing and such in all aspects of turns, shifting, mirrors....etc. However, I like a lot of young people jumping into the industry was quickly spoiled to the autoshift. I really wanted to go to Maverick but they would not hire me because I live 9 miles too far for that. Yes 9. I know, they seem quite petty but a lot of places are. Currently it looks as if PAM is my only option and I have the release forms in hand awaiting my actual decision to be made.

I have read on this site and others how PAM isnt so great in many ways but that it is in others but I dont really know what to believe. Another thing is even though I have such little experience and it was over 7 months ago when I had it, PAM does not think I need any type of refresher to the job. This isnt a major concern as Im sure it would pick back up in my mind slowly but surely. Anyway, if anyone knows of a "decent" company (notice I didnt say "perfect) out there with a chance for me to drive an autoshift and continue on to greener pastures I would highly appreciate the info. Its more of a problem for me it seems because I have been out of work for so long that I am starting to just say screw it and go somewhere I know Im not going to work out just so my kids can have Christmas this year.

Like I said, any and all information will be helpful and definitely appreciated.

Thx

2. Truckers Report Jobs