Need some advice on a CRST truck lease

Discussion in 'Lease Purchase Trucking Forum' started by John B. Hood, Jul 6, 2018.

1. John B. Hood

John B. Hood Bobtail Member

Jul 6, 2018
    I'm young but i've been driving for a couple years, up and down Texas, Oklahoma and that region, frac sand, flatbed, that type of stuff. I've definitely cut my teeth on driving and I'm ready to get an OTR job that'll be easier. The concept of shutting down for 10 hours and not having someone scream down my neck sounds like heaven.

But i've heard enough flack about OTR companies, but all my buddies say nothing but good things about their paychecks. At the moment I'm at a crossroad. I contacted CRST's flatbed company Malone. The recruiter was very eager when he found out my record is clean as a whistle with no tickets or accidents, he urged me to fill out the application and as a salesman always does, sped along the process. I went ahead and filled out the app and i'm waiting to hear back from them. Though it's moving very quickly and I want to get some advice from people that have been down this road.

I understand an in-company truck lease is a terrible idea, however I wish to use the income to kickstart a hotshot business outside of the semi. Something simple that my family can run while I run wide open until I can get it established, and quite frankly i'm tired of these ######## local jobs.

The recruiter talked to me, and though I'm not sold I wish to find some answers to these questions;

The pay is 70% of load, does this come out to be good? i.e, if you run according to your logs and plan out your expenses, can you make a living? Obviously I was fed the "You'll make $2,000-3,000 a week' line, but i've been fed that nonsense enough times to know that it's never true. There is always a catch. So for those who know, what's the catch?