New CDL Driver From Long Island Ny. Please Advise.

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by jojo1212, Feb 22, 2017.

1. jojo1212

jojo1212 Bobtail Member

Feb 22, 2017
    Hello. I have recently received my Class A from a local school. I have zero experience. I am looking for a job with an OTR company but i am not sure which ones I should apply for. Like the title says I live on Long Island, I own a House here on the North Shore, in Suffolk.

My concern is about logistics. Are there any good companies that I could realistically commute to from here. I understand that I will be out for 2-3 weeks at a time but not sure how my location will factor in.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. ASmallFleetDriver

ASmallFleetDriver Light Load Member

Oct 16, 2016
    ChicagoLand
    Being from Ny and familiar with the area anyone hiring for reefer will love you.

Getting you home Im not sure though only know of two places you can leave a truck for a few days and they charge per day. Why not drive local? Imagine Ny local pays well.

Stay safe ^_^

4. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    How old are you; many companies have minimum age requirements.
    Plenty of jobs, but truck parking will be a problem; don't know what to say concerning that. There's drivers that post on here that live in your area, so maybe they can give advice as to parking. Otherwise, ask the companies you apply to what their policy is.
    FedEx Freight is hiring new grads:
    127 Dale Street
    City: West Babylon
    State: New York
    McLane Company hires new grads as second seat driver to assist first seat driver until you're qualified for first seat. It's foodservice and pays really well.