New driver, no experience looking for work

Discussion in 'Canadian Truckers Forum' started by Oldfogey, Jul 9, 2018.

1. Oldfogey

Oldfogey Bobtail Member

Jul 9, 2018
    New Brunswick
    Hello everyone, I am brand new to trucking. After working in an office for the past 25 years, I am burnt out (just coming off stress leave). I have always wanted to drive ever since I was a young kid (currently 51). I am enrolled in a CDL course and I will get my license soon. As a person with no Class 1 experience and not able to travel to the US, will I be able to get Canada only work? I live in New Brunswick and I am looking for OTR or oilfield work. Any help is greatly appreciated.

canadian Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Oldfogey

Oldfogey Bobtail Member

Jul 9, 2018
    New Brunswick
    Not one person willing to comment?

4. raydregs

raydregs Bobtail Member

May 22, 2016
    dont give up when the time is right everything will fall in place

Oldfogey Thanks this.
  5. Canadianhauler21

Canadianhauler21 Heavy Load Member

May 15, 2017
    Not too sure what the job market in new Brunswick is like, but it should be possible to get Canada only work if you look hard enough. I know many companies in my area that to Canada only. If you can't find a job in your area and want to do OTR you can also travel to a nearby company terminal and drive from there. Age shouldn't be a big factor my dad started driving at 49 and he's 59 now. There is no shortage of trucking Jobs, I'd say even for a new driver you have quite a few options.

Oldfogey Thanks this.
  6. Jazz1

Jazz1 Road Train Member

May 7, 2012
    Thunder Bay On
    Age is not a problem. Most companies consider us mature, reliable and dependable. :cool:
    Recruiters usually make a pitch at the schools. I’m not familiar with companies in your area