New driver

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Nikki3587, May 29, 2017.

1. Nikki3587

Nikki3587 Bobtail Member

May 29, 2017
    Hi.... So this is my first two weeks on a truck after i got my cdl. I must say it was everything i expected and then some. I like getting the real driving experience but im missing my family alot. I should have started off by saying i am a female and alot of this is all new to me. One thing i have found out to be true is alot of other professional drivers have very little common knowledge of other drivers. I am new so i am nervous ive been cussed out by other truck drivers and then some. I just wanted to drop this out there to remind everyone to show some respect and understanding for new drivers! No one was born with a cdl and i am still learning so instead of cussing me out and flipping me off in your company rigs get out and help me back. Teach me i am easy to learn and i welcome all the help i can get as will a lot of other new drivers. Just a friendly reminder! Happy trucking!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. str8t10

str8t10 Medium Load Member

Apr 25, 2015
    Rochester,ny
    I've been in transportation my whole life. And I've had my class A for almost 3 yrs now. Backing comes very easy to me but I'm not to proud to ask for a spotter. Sometimes the only way to learn is to ask a question. There are a lot of willing teachers out on the road. But most of their holier than thou attitudes and my load/time is more precious than yours. Makes dealing with the self righteous BS unbearable sometimes. Anyways my advice is to watch other good drivers and their techniques. As well as show up to shippers/receivers or shut down a little early to be able to find someone to spot you or give you some tips. The best bit I can offer is never rush. When you rush, that's when bad things happen.

4. Moosetek13

Moosetek13 Road Train Member