New Hotshoter - PNW

Discussion in 'Expediter and Hot Shot Trucking Forum' started by Trident39, Jan 21, 2019.

1. Trident39

Trident39 Bobtail Member

Jan 21, 2019
    Hi Everyone, I am an aspiring new business owner/operator in the hotshot field that will be utilizing a heavy duty pickup/trailer combination. I've been thinking about making the career change for a few months now, taking baby steps so that I can research every aspect of this new endeavor for myself.

I have several years operations experience doing a little bit of everything for a large transportation company but got tired of sitting behind a desk all the time taking orders from "the man". The idea of being a long haul driver has always been appealing to me, since a kid, but ever since I learned about hotshoting it felt more my style.

So far I have achieved the following:

-Researched the prices of pickups (Going for a 2013+ Ram 3500 Cummins with Aisin transmission)
    -Researched the price of trailers (Big Tex gooseneck 30+ feet)
    -Obtained insurance coverage quotes
    -Established my business with the state (Oregon)
    -Completed my DOT exam
    -Completed the DMV hazmat endorsement
    -In the process of liquidating some assets to have some emergency funds saved up

Tomorrow I will be taking my general knowledge test to obtain my Class A CDL learners permit so that I can haul over 26,000 lbs. (After successfully completing the DMV drive test).

The reason I joined this group is because I'd really like to pick the brains of people that haul in the Pacific Northwest. I intend to drive to all corners of Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Nevada, Utah, Arizona, B.C, and god forbidding, California. *WITHOUT a dispatcher*

If anybody would be willing to connect and help a noobie out I'd be more than happy to compensate them for their time. Sorry for the long post, as you can see I'm a little excited about getting started with this.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds