New law

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by Godshalls, Jan 30, 2020.

  1. Godshalls

    Godshalls Bobtail Member

    Jan 28, 2020
    Hey, just reaching out. Heard about a new law not allowing anyone to just go get their CDL at the DMV, you have to go through a full course. Is this true?
  2. w9l

    w9l Bobtail Member

    Oct 12, 2013
    I don't think that the pending new law changes the agency that issues the CDL. It does add a requirement that your education comes from a certified source. A well meaning law that will likely have a net result of 0 when it comes to safety. Accreditation to meet the standards will be an added expense to the educators which will be passed on to the students 10 fold, I would guess. I do not claim to be an authority on this, so don't quote me as fact.
    Sounds like no more veteran drivers teaching their offspring , etc. How about the kids that grew up on farms that require a cdl to take care of seasonal work? These are examples of what has sadly became a very minor population in the trucking indusry.
  3. Hurricane69

    Hurricane69 Road Train Member

    Sep 10, 2008
    No it's not true
  4. dibstr

    dibstr Road Train Member

    Sep 10, 2010
    Cattleman84, brian991219 and x1Heavy Thank this.
  5. Snow Hater

    Snow Hater Light Load Member

    Dec 26, 2019
    I'm coming up on my last week of school. I have no standard of comparison so I can't say if I'm in a good school or not. Subjectively I think I am. There is no way to teach a new driver how to drive safely in one of these schools. That will take hours and hours on the road. Sure, if you drive a car you may know how to drive safely, but doing it in a rig is different. That has to happen during otr training. No way a student will afford a school covering driving time and classroom to accomplish being a safe driver before getting a CDL.
  6. x1Heavy

    x1Heavy Road Train Member

    Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    I have heard talk in our State House about this pending law. I don't think it's required in Arkansas just yet, as I am told to grab a truck and money for fees and tests to get a CDL any time. It would not surprise me.

    If they do this I think it will force schools to shape up or close.
  7. LDLWells

    LDLWells Medium Load Member

    Jan 14, 2019
    They're exempt from having a CDL
    x1Heavy Thanks this.
  8. x1Heavy

    x1Heavy Road Train Member

    Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    Yes If I remember right in the old time back then Carnivals had some as young as 8 driving the 18 wheelers with the stowed rides of whatever kind, we would pass them and make a big deal on the radio about how well that 8 year old was doing with his Transstar cabover upgrade near scranton. He did a good job. Maybe a little scared as children might be with daddy in the passenger seat. We all had worked out the convoy so that we eased past him one by one without doing anything stupid near him.

    With night time coming on too. No DOT, No police no one touched the kid right up 81 he went. Loaded and all.

    I do remember I was jealous. But hey... if you had the chops at 8 to do THAT then by god you got it.
  9. DeanOfMac

    DeanOfMac Bobtail Member

    Jan 11, 2020
    I'm in one of the schools now that the new standards will be based on. The school is accredited thru the Professional Truck Driving Institute. Instead of 160 hours it is 320 hours. Eight weeks of training - not only behind the wheel but lots of other instruction as well. The school I'm in doesn't stop at teaching you how to pass the state CDL test - we delve into a lot of safety training, night driving, the Smith System, HazMat, trip planning, public and shipper/receiver relations, and personal health and safety. We will get somewhere between 160 to 180 hours behind the wheel.
    faux_maestro, brian991219 and kanidana Thank this.
  10. kanidana

    kanidana Medium Load Member

    Aug 21, 2010
    Mesa, AZ
    Sounds like my school I did back in 2011. I was in school for 4 months, five days a week, 8 hours a day, and it cost 5000 dollars.
    DeanOfMac Thanks this.
  • Draft saved Draft deleted