New or used car hauling?

Discussion in 'Car Hauler and Auto Carrier Trucking Forum' started by MooneyBravo, Dec 17, 2019.

1. MooneyBravo

MooneyBravo Heavy Load Member

Feb 20, 2012
    Vermilion, Oh
    I've been doing car hauling on and off since 2002. Done some piggybacking in between and work for my church moving household goods from 2008 through 2011. A friend of mine who has been doing this consistently for the last 30 years and used to work where I work moved on to another job and he seems to be making way better money. He was telling me that the new car transport is not as lucrative as it used to be because everyone keeps playing Cutthroat with each other and the manufacturers are taking advantage of it all. He said that hauling used cars pays better then new cars right now.

He said that it all goes through a cycle and is like a rollercoaster. One day new cars is the place to be and then another year it's all in used cars.

Is this true?
    Is hauling used cars where it's at right now?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. pavrom

pavrom Road Train Member

Apr 29, 2012
    NE illinois
    If you independent - up to you . Some people hate POV , some people hate salvage auctions , some people dont like new cars because they are not careful enough or lack of experience and tiny scratch will cost a fortune in this case . I was moving povS at one period and loved it - flexible delivery , even 11pm sometimes , mostly cash , another period salvage cars - had dedicated account - check on delivery all the time , lease return or used dealer cars nice to drop after hours with many people i was working . Just think for urself , area you are , timeframe you wanna work etc
    Cant tell you new cars experience - never had one

4. Kawinige01

Kawinige01 Heavy Load Member

May 30, 2016
    South Fla