New owner operator, Lease or Own authority?

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by jsingh, Dec 17, 2018.

1. jsingh

jsingh Bobtail Member

Dec 17, 2018
    Ok.. Very new to trucking I've been working with a company for 6 months now and I feel the money I'm making is not enough for me to do this much longer. I have only 15k saved up to put down on a truck and I wanna know if it's even worth me getting my own authority or just lease with a company that will take me on?

I know everyone says to wait a year or two but I don't think It's worth it for me to be working for a company making 5/6k a month. I want to be plan my own work schedule and have more freedom.

all advice is appreciated.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Midwest Trucker

Midwest Trucker Road Train Member

Aug 31, 2018
    You are not even close to being prepared enough. You better save up another 15k at the very least and that’s if you put no money down on the tractor.

You can spend 15k in a matter of a couple weeks. If you spend that on your tractor down payment then what are you going to run on?

Be patient and save up to do it right. You will get swallowed up and spit out as you are now. Maybe wouldn’t even hit the road.

jsingh, PE_T, JonJon78 and 2 others Thank this.
  4. danny23tx

danny23tx Road Train Member

Feb 16, 2016
    Austin,Tx
    Save up another 10k so you get off to a good start . Build up your credit as well and keep doing research , a lot of good stories and threads on this forum of ppl failing and succeeding. Good luck dont rush it .

jsingh and Rideandrepair Thank this.
  5. SteerTire

SteerTire Road Train Member

Nov 5, 2018
    Behind the wheel
    Like the others, I can’t stress it enough. You do not have the experience needed for this move.

There is so much that you don’t understand about this industry yet. And you can’t learn this in 6-12 months.