New to trucking. How will CRST get me home to Northern Calif?

Discussion in 'CRST' started by 4Bear, Jul 26, 2012.

1. 4Bear

4Bear Bobtail Member

Jul 24, 2012
    I have no experience and a fresh Class A with all the endorsements. I am considering CRST or Swift. CRST looks like a tighter ship for taking on people with no experience, but Swift is closer to where I live east of Sacramento with their terminal in Lathrop. I've talked to a CRST recruiter who says they can get me home because I can take a truck home, but there is no place around where I live to park one. They seemed kind of vague about other places to the south like Stockton and Modesto for places to park a truck. But if I had a car, I still would need a reliable commute between where I live and where ever the trucks are and a reliable place to park. I don't have a car yet and so until then I need access to a bus at least.

Are there any CRST drivers out there in Nothern California? How do you cope with the lack of terminals up here?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. CenutryClass

CenutryClass Road Train Member

Feb 15, 2006
    There are alot of companies down in Sacramento, why settle for two of the worst training companies out there?

Alot of freight runs off 80 so i suggest you do some more homework. look on craigslist even.

Off-n-on Thanks this.
  4. 4Bear

4Bear Bobtail Member

Jul 24, 2012
    I've been looking on Craig's List, that's where I found Swift and CRST. I don't see anyone else taking on inexperienced drivers at all on Craig's List. I took a clue from the image you posted for Con-Way and had a look to see if they had something in Northern California and they didn't as near as I could see. Whatever else you can say about CRST and Swift, they are ready to take you on where ever you are at.