New with Trucking Taxes Please Help, Thanks!

Discussion in 'Trucker Taxes and Truck Financing' started by TruckYes, Dec 27, 2016.

1. TruckYes

TruckYes Bobtail Member

Dec 9, 2016
    Hello guys,

I've been a company driver for two years. I have no idea how I can save money on taxes and no idea on how to do my own taxes. I've read about per diem, writing expenses off, and turbotax and stuff like that. So, what I am understanding from reading the forums is that I can save $$$ by using an app called turbotax and writing off some of my expenses. Does turbotax work? Please help. Thanks!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. RoughCut

RoughCut Bobtail Member

Dec 27, 2016
    NC - Piedmont Triad Area
    Turbo tax is good however if you have kept all your receipts (things you have needed while on the road) you would be better off going to an accountant who specializes in doing trucker's taxes. It is so much more in depth than what I believe turbo can and will do. Best of luck!

TequilaSunrise and TruckYes Thank this.
  4. TruckYes

TruckYes Bobtail Member

Dec 9, 2016
    Unfortunately, I haven't kept all my receipts. You think I can use Turbotax to do my taxes? And about how much money might I save if I do start keeping my receipts as a company driver. We got any TurboTax experts here?

5. RoughCut

RoughCut Bobtail Member

Dec 27, 2016
    NC - Piedmont Triad Area
    Best to keep all receipts but since you haven't kept all of them, using turbo shouldn't be a problem. It's fairly straight forward to use and user friendly.