Newbie looking to buy flatbed, What to look for?

Discussion in 'Flatbed Trucking Forum' started by Doughboy18, May 23, 2019.

1. Doughboy18

Doughboy18 Light Load Member

Jan 27, 2019
    Im sure many will have something to say, but basically im looking to get into flatbed. I have been running dry van, but I feel its kind of basic and would like to add to my resume. Have no experience, but I have a few friends who run flat to look to for help. And just a little background, I never worked for a company. I got my license by going to, I guess you would call it fly by night school, Bought a truck & trailer cash and started my own authority. Besides getting my truck stolen I have been running successfully. My driving experience stemmed from driving for MTA (NY City Bus). Quick learner, and lot of things for me are self taught with the help of reading and watching videos. Back to whats important.

I Pretty much run out of newyork, so the easiest and convenient loads are garbage and I can always find something coming back in. Don't want to run garbage in a dry van because most the products I pick up is food grade.

I'm looking to start out with something basic, 48ft, aluminum, spread axle regular flat. Just looking for some tips on what brands to go for and stay away from, what to look for in general and what to avoid. Should I go 53, etc... Have my eyes on a 2014 Great Dane flat. they want 22k for it

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. starmac

starmac Road Train Member

Apr 11, 2019
    Fairbanks Ak
    I like trailers with a lot of tie down points, chains and sliding winches on both sides.
    If I thought I would be tarping much at all, I also like tarp hooks on them.
    Unless you think you may need the extra length, I would stay with a 48, but for sure 102X48 and not a 96.
    I would also look at the weight and prefer combos myself over straight steel or aluminum.