Newbie trucker, looking for info with TMC

Discussion in 'TMC' started by moparbob, Apr 11, 2017.

1. moparbob

moparbob Bobtail Member

Apr 11, 2017
    Hey everybody, I will be a newbie trucker here in a couple of weeks, I am going to do the TMC CDL training. My background is in IT and really cant find any work and decided to give this a try. I have a few questions, I will be asking in stages.

First, how do you guys eat for ORT? Do you always eat at truck stops for breakfast and dinner or you have a microwave and/or a fridge and just make simple things?

I also don't know how I am going to handle being away from home all the time. I am a nerd and enjoy my nerd things such as TV, movies, and video games.

Please let me know what you guys think.

Thanks everybody.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. dptrucker

dptrucker Road Train Member

May 14, 2012
    adelanto,ca.
    As far as eating it depends what your company allows on the truck. Buying anything from truckstops is expensive. If you are not good being alone then you might have issues going otr. The lifesyle takes its toll on some.

4. joesmoothdog

joesmoothdog Heavy Load Member

Aug 5, 2013
    OTR
  5. Hsauer87

Hsauer87 Light Load Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Parkton , North Carolina
    I drive for tmc I have a fridge and microwave, my wife freezes leftovers throughout the week that I eathink the following week for dinner. Cereal for breakfast

My truck also has satalite tv and my ps4 when I find the time to play or watch is a different story

6. moparbob

moparbob Bobtail Member

Apr 11, 2017
    Great info, sounds like my kind of truck.

I start my CDL training next Monday, can't wait. Never drove anything big so I hope I can do it.

So I been reading that there is no APU, so how hurt or help you? I like to sleep in lower temps and don't know about the summer.

7. Hsauer87

Jun 15, 2012
    Parkton , North Carolina