Newbie wanting to get into the LTL game

Discussion in 'LTL and Local Delivery Trucking Forum' started by cbqsd9, Dec 29, 2012.

1. cbqsd9

cbqsd9 Bobtail Member

Dec 29, 2012
    Viola,Il
    Im wanting to drive for an LTL(right now FedEx Freight is the only one hiring around me)

I have my Class A and all endorsment except HazMat, But im starting the process to get it after the holidays are over.
    Ive been driving for about 6 months for FS as a fertizlier tender.
    I have no tickets and i have a cristal clear work history, I am also a hard worker.
    I love driving semis ,and I really want to pull doubles, probally because my dad pulled doubles for Roadway/YRC for 25 years before the layoff limbo started.

I was just wondering if i'd be canidate for hire with FedEx Freight.
    And should i wait to apply after i get may HazMat or apply and tell them ill be getting it soon.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. socal

socal Medium Load Member

Feb 18, 2008
    Los Angeles CA
    Just go for it your father should be your mentor. I work ltl and you cannot wait for them to be hiring. Most won't even hardly advertise they are hiring. Just go apply at every one and be willing to start on the dock or local ltl till you get some senority.

4. Deadjester

Deadjester Light Load Member

Jun 24, 2011
    Indiana
    also, if you try for fed ex, i wouldn't mention your dad working at yrc, fed ex are very strong anti union people...at least management is, any hint and it's a no go...had a good friend that couldn't get on there because he'd worked for a sheetmetal union a few years back.

CenutryClass and mje Thank this.
  5. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Watch for trick or leading questions during an interview; trying to learn your views on unions. One slip of the tongue and the interview is over.

mje Thanks this.
  6. CenutryClass