News about automated trucks.

Discussion in 'Other News' started by LoneRanger, Feb 27, 2020.

1. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

2. Deadwood

Deadwood Heavy Load Member

Dec 24, 2016
    I’ve been arguing how childishly naive the idea of a massive switch to self driving trucks is on Mike Shedlock’s blog for five years. He’s famous enough to do reports on Coast to Coast at night.

They’re positive that all trucks will be automated next year because they saw that one Wolverine movie where it happened so it has to be real. They are wealthy White Collars and I’m a dumb trucker, so how could I possibly be right?

Scratch a little under the surface of the limits of their white collar knowledge and they’ve got no answers.

With this story: There are people paid to drive these trucks remotely, right? Who is doing the pretrip on the truck? If a hub seal has no oil, causing a tandem tire to blow and catch fire while it’s driving down the road, what’s to keep it from spreading to the trailer and having a giant 80,000 lb burning disaster moving at 65MPH?

If they’re paying the guy more than a trucker he’ll be monitoring more loads - probably 10-20. Will he really be paying attention to them all or will he be goofing off at the water cooler?

There is an author named Nassim Taleb who writes about risk. He calls people like this Inellectual-Yet-Idiots because they’re drenched in theory and learning divorced from the real world.

Last edited: Feb 27, 2020
    Doealex and jason6541 Thank this.
  3. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    A group of terrorists in a number of cars can place a robot truck into a no win scenario and force a crash. Or herd a propane tanker into say the Holland Tunnel.

Boom.

4. LoneRanger

LoneRanger Road Train Member

Jun 3, 2018
    they could do that now with a normal truck. Nothing changes.