next company I should go to?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by alohaspirit, Mar 15, 2018.

1. alohaspirit

alohaspirit Bobtail Member

Mar 15, 2018
    pennsylvania
    Hello I've been reading as much as I can on this forum. since nov 2016 I've been runnin a reefer. I feel like even as a trainer i have to run team. Great pay highest one week was 2700 then 2500 usually tho 1800. Gross.Not take home. Gross yearly pay was 60k with bonuses and everything minus deductions like scales and supplies. I can't complain but as a lease op it's a lot of risk and I know I could have made more but some weeks were negative. And that just sucks. I have a tanker and hazmat endorsement. Wouldn't getting in a job pulling tankers or flatbed be a better option ttha reefer or dry? I'm not against flatbed either. Ultimately I'd like to go to a place like landstar and pick my own loads. However my background isn't great. 2 moving violations in 3years missed a scale and left road way(ran over stop sign( and I was stupid before I got into driving.dui simple assualt.... I know overtime this wont matter as much but for now I'm just trying to catch the best way possible. Schneider has me interwsted with their choice program somewhat like landstar but I hear they have a good tanker program too? Any advice from more experienced drivers is appreciated company's? Specialty? Just give up and live in a tent l? No!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. RustyBolt

RustyBolt Road Train Member

Feb 21, 2015
    Bement, IL
    Your past (DUI, assault) will be a deciding factor for a lot of companies. Don't quit where you are until you know for a fact those companies you're interested in will overlook them.

4. alohaspirit

Mar 15, 2018
    pennsylvania