Oakley Tansport vs. Indian River

Discussion in 'Discuss Your Favorite Trucking Company Here' started by bmack, Jul 27, 2017.

1. bmack

bmack Light Load Member

Apr 21, 2014
    I am looking at going back OTR after being local for 4 years (5 years driving experience total). I've been hauling fuel for the last 2 years and enjoy pulling a tank. Live in Tampa and considering Oakley & IRT. Any advice comrades?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    I haven't worked for either company, but I did love running coast to coast pulling tanks. Do know that IRT runs all over the country with food grade, but don't know how freight lanes are for Oakley. Read Oakley has APU's on the trucks, but that doesn't mean much if the runs aren't good.

4. motocross25

motocross25 Road Train Member

Sep 23, 2010
    Overland Park, KS
    Indian River 2016
    @Larry_H has a really good thread going about Indian River. I copied the link hope it worked. He seems to be getting plenty of miles

5. River-driver

River-driver Light Load Member

Apr 10, 2011
    Nashville, TN
    I drove for IRT until 2011. I really loved it! Seems like people said IRT was more laid back, and Oakley micro managed, but maybe paid more. That's just my memory of drivers talking though.