Offered a great paying job close to home, but manual trucks only.

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by longhairdontcare, Mar 20, 2018.

1. longhairdontcare

longhairdontcare Light Load Member

Sep 4, 2016
    I found the perfect job for me. Starts at $80,000 a year and get to be home everyday with weekends off. It's hard to get on with this mom and pop company because no one ever leaves. I applied a few months ago and got a call this morning telling me a position just opened up. I have 3 years experience, but unfortunately, all of their trucks are 10 speed and I don't know how to drive a stick. I've been driving auto the entire time. They asked me if I would be able to start next monday and me being afraid I was not going to not have another opportunity with company, I told them I would be ready by monday. They told me that I will have to hit the ground running because they have a lot of stops I have to deliver to. I'm panicking looking at youtube videos on how to drive a 10 speed hoping I will get the hang of it by the time I go in.

Can any of you give me some tips on upshifting/downshifting so i wont stick out like a sore thumb?

born&raisedintheusa Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Vic Firth

Vic Firth Road Train Member

Jan 19, 2016
    Indiana
    Did you go to CDL school and if so didn’t they have a manual for you to train with?

Lepton1, mitmaks and CrappieJunkie Thank this.
  4. CrappieJunkie

CrappieJunkie Wishin' I was fishin'

Mar 9, 2014
    In a van down by the River.
    Um. Contact local truck rental place and practice.

Lepton1 and Vic Firth Thank this.
  5. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    If you learned on a stick shift in cdl school, you'll be ok.
    During the road test; "This truck shifts a little different from what I'm used to; but I'll adjust to it."

6. Sublime