OK, I give up... What is Regen? Explain please.

Discussion in 'Trucks [ Eighteen Wheelers ]' started by Grumppy, Nov 16, 2013.

1. Grumppy

Grumppy Trucker Forum STAFF Staff Member

Dec 11, 2010
    West Monroe, La
    I see all these threads about regen. I have watched these threads, I have searched threads & I still cant figure out what a regen is or how to do one.

Can you guys explain what it is, what causes it, how do you know it needs a regen & how is a manual regen done. As well since I see all these threads talking about manual regen, is there such a thing as an automatic regen? Does the engine or computer etc do a regen & I dont know it?
    Cause I tell you, I have been driving '06 & '07 Freightshakers with Detroit's for the past 6 years & I dont that I have ever experienced anything associated with a regen. I'm completely lost here.

I would appreciate informative responses rather than "you've been a driving for how long &...." or any other derogatory responses. I'm just asking a question because I don't know & I have tried to follow the threads so I wouldn't have to ask but....

ExmuslimAtheist Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Bayle

Bayle Road Train Member

Aug 30, 2007
    Cottage Grove, MN
    The exhaust filter starts to get clogged. So the motor needs to burn out the soot. Usually with a lot of highway driving and little idling the engine does itself while driving. However with a lot of idle or city driving it builds up and usually there is a light on the dash that tells you it needs to do a parked regen. That means you park hit a button and the engine revs up gets the exhaust really hot and burns it out.
    I'm not great at these explanations, best I can do. I was surprised no one answered yet. Perhaps somebody else comes along to say it better.

ExmuslimAtheist and Grumppy Thank this.
  4. Big Don

Big Don "Old Fart"

Sep 8, 2007