"On my way to be a Trucker"

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Ricky'sRig, Feb 15, 2021.

1. Ricky'sRig

Ricky'sRig Bobtail Member

Feb 15, 2021
    Hey Guys;

I am in process of learning CDL; have few questions as this is my first time trying to get in this industry & want to understand procedures & get homework done before I start applying for jobs.

1. What are the on & off duty regulations & pay structure system; where can I find a guide print?
    2. How do I organize step by step procedures for me to get on road & have steady income?
    3. I am leaving behind construction industry for truck; will I be able to multiply income by picking more shifts & doing long hauls ( I am based in Ontario, Canada).

Will appreciate your help.

Regards,
    Ricky

austinmike Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Redtwin

Redtwin Road Train Member

Aug 17, 2012
    PBC, FL
    Only your employer can answer those. Some truck driving jobs are paid hourly, others by mileage or percentage of the load.

Long hauls don't necessarily pay more than local or regional runs, again, all depends on your employer. Usually, the best way to get more loads/money is by proving yourself to your employer.

Ricky'sRig Thanks this.
  4. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    @AModelCat maybe has some suggestions; he's in Canada.

Last edited: Feb 15, 2021
    Ricky'sRig Thanks this.
  5. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Canadianhauler21 and Ricky'sRig Thank this.
  6. AModelCat

AModelCat Road Train Member

Jul 7, 2015
    Canuckistan
    Ontario's quite a bit different than Alberta/BC. There's quite a few Ontario drivers on the site that'll be able to provide better info than I.

Ricky'sRig Thanks this.
  7. Phantom Trucker

Phantom Trucker Medium Load Member

Jan 11, 2016