One wreck on record

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Downtime89, Jan 24, 2018.

1. Downtime89

Downtime89 Bobtail Member

Jan 24, 2018
    Hey peeps really simple question here, I'm wanting to get into this career. I currently work as a cable service technician in Georgia. I drive probably a good 5 hours a day as it is I've been looking into getting into trucking. Problem is I have one accident on my record I was ticketed for following too close at the accident. Is there any company that will hire and train with that on my record? I already applied for roehl but was turned down for that reason. I applied for Pam last night and have to call around lunch today do they have the same policy as roehl?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    How long ago was the wreck?
    Where are you in Georgia?

4. Downtime89

Jan 24, 2018
    Columbus Georgia the wreck was about 3 or 4 months ago I'm 28 and it was my first wreck in over 10 years.

5. bigkev1115

bigkev1115 Road Train Member

Oct 23, 2009
    Alexandria, AL
    I don t think the accident would hurt you, but seeing the ticket was for following too close, some companies may frown upon that because even though you don t have a CDL yet, they still may view that as a serious violation

Downtime89 and Chinatown Thank this.
  6. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Contact Georgia Training Academy right there in Columbus and ask about tuition assistance. They have financial aid or you can pay up front with a credit card, etc or other means.
    Because your wreck was a rear-ender, it's classified as "careless/reckless driving" in the trucking world. There are companies that will hire you though and are called "2nd chance" companies.