owner operator paid $7000 last year. Is this too much?

Discussion in 'Trucker Taxes and Truck Financing' started by glhx2, Jan 30, 2009.

1. glhx2

glhx2 Bobtail Member

Jan 29, 2009
    cookeville, Tennessee
    i am an owner operator that paid $7000 in taxes last year on $165,000 gross. I use a cpa in utah that charges $200. I write my new trucks off in 3 years (which i would rather do it in 5) and new trailers off in 3 as well. Is there something i am missing? Is there a way to save more money from going straight to uncle sam. I like having new trucks, but id like to keep my old one for a couple of more years without having to pay so much in taxes. Maybe i could go LLC or straight up incorporated. Would this help. I would also like to buy another truck this year and would be interested in tax strategy for that as well. There is a cpa whos says she can save me more money (a lot more money) This makes me curious as to how this will go about. Ultimately i am liable for my taxes. To put someone i dont know in charge of that, just to get some illegal savings is not how i do business. This forum has a wealth of knowledge, and i'm sure the collaberation of people on here can give me the best and straightest answer i could find anywhere else. Thank you in advance for your time and patience.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Roadmedic

Roadmedic Road Train Member

Apr 4, 2007
    Anybody that tells you they can save you money over what was paid without looking at the return and the information is not someone to be talking to.

4. DoubleDear

DoubleDear Light Load Member

Jan 28, 2009
    Harrisburg PA
    You save money by making sure you have every single expense counted for in detail. From A to Z.