Pay for your own CDL training or go through a companies training?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by mwehrle, Feb 27, 2018.

1. mwehrle

mwehrle Light Load Member

Feb 24, 2018
    Ogden, Utah
    I'm a newbie planning a career change. Would I be better off to go get my CDL on my own dime or go through a company's training program where they train you and offer you a job?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. road_runner

road_runner Road Train Member

Mar 26, 2012
    Montucky
    Bite the bullet and pay for your own CDL. If you look up the job corps, they may pay for your training.

I landed a good LTL job right out of school...but individual experiences will vary based on where you live and what companies are hiring.

Good luck.

Toomanybikes and Dan.S Thank this.
  4. mwehrle

Feb 24, 2018
    Ogden, Utah
    What company did you land with right out of school?

5. Moosetek13

Moosetek13 Road Train Member

Nov 1, 2010
    Burnsville, MN
    Either way, you will pay for it in some way.

One difference; if you go with company paid training is that you are fairly certain to get a job with them once you graduate.
    But if you leave before it is paid off, you will be held responsible for the bill. All or in part, depending on the company.

6. plankton

plankton Medium Load Member

Jan 9, 2015