Play in trailer kingpin, how much is OK?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Tom Thumb, Sep 23, 2018.

1. Tom Thumb

Tom Thumb Bobtail Member

Sep 23, 2018
    How much play is ok with my fifth wheel and king pin. When starting to move from a stop there is a considerable amount of jerk, then while shifting a pretty good slam (as the trailer moves forward). This happens any time the tractor slows down and then speeds up. As far as I can tell there is no side to side movement but definitely front to back. I brought this to the company mechanic and they scoffed at me and made me feel like an idiot. He said it moves about an inch and says that’s fine (it feels like it could be moving more but I’m not back there to see) he also claims he once hauled heavy equiptment and had 4”-5” of play and that was fine too. I am a new driver for them and I admit I don’t have a ton of experience but as far as I know there shouldn’t be much play if any. So who is right? I don’t want to drop my trailer with 200 bbl of product in an intersection or anywhere on the road for that matter. If it’s not a big deal great but if it is I will have to stand my ground and make them fix it.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. MACK E-6

MACK E-6 Moderator Staff Member

Sep 19, 2005
    Baltimore, MD
    Well, if it’s a matter of adjusting the fifth wheel jaws it’s an easy fix. Worse though is the kingpin itself being worn out.

If this alleged “mechanic” weren’t the idiot he seems to enjoy making people feel like, he would’ve had you lock the trailer brakes and bump your tractor back and forth to see exactly what’s going on there.

Bucky, Dino soar, Oxbow and 6 others Thank this.
  4. WesternPlains

WesternPlains Road Train Member

Sep 1, 2017
    I dropped a trailer once. Picked it up in a snow storm with ice and all.