Point me in the right direction - Owning a Truck for Show?

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Truemac, Mar 18, 2019.

1. Truemac

Truemac Light Load Member

Apr 24, 2013
    I wasn't entirely sure where to post this so please hear me out...

I've been driving for about 4 years now, the last 2 with my current company. I've put a lot of long and hard thought into the idea and process of buying and running my own truck for even longer than that. I've read and stocked a lot of good information from this forum on what it takes to be successful and how easy it is to not. I keep waffling between going gung-ho into making a shot at it and deciding it isn't worth the added headache.
    I came to the realization recently that I may be going about this the wrong way: I asked myself why I wanted to be an owner/operator so bad, and the #1 answer I came back with was that I wanted to drive a cool truck. I've always loved those old classic long hood Pete's and KW's rolling down the highway, and imagining myself at the wheel of one of those rigs was partially what inspired me to pursue my CDL.