Poly trucking - Mechanics are Self Taught

Discussion in 'Heavy Duty Diesel Truck Mechanics Forum' started by IndianaF150, Apr 21, 2018.

1. IndianaF150

IndianaF150 Medium Load Member

Apr 27, 2014
    I was just told by a Poly mechanic that Poly Trucking mechanics are self-taught.

Anyone working for Poly America can get a job as a mechanic when notice of a mechanic vacancy is posted. No experience required. You could be a guard, a janitor, a secretary, anything and they’ll give you the job.

They start you in “the pit” doing oil changes. If you don’t screw anything up for a week or two, you can then become a diesel mechanic.

Once a diesel mechanic, they’ll tell you what to do and walk you through each procedure, but that’s it.

Because tools are so expensive, Snap-on salesmen come along and finance over-priced tools to take advantage of your poor financial situation.

Way-to-go Poly.

Western flyer Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. IndianaF150

IndianaF150 Medium Load Member

Apr 27, 2014
    That explains why so many trucks coming out of the shop haven’t been fixed and sometimes worse than when they went in.

94yj and austinmike Thank this.
  4. Goodysnap

Goodysnap Road Train Member

Jul 12, 2017
    It truly amazes me that most fleets are not willing to fork over the extra coin to get quality guys to maintain their trucks. Every fleet ad I see for diesel mechanics are always way below current acceptable wages for a qualified individual. Always seems like they are scraping the bottom of the barrel and getting the cheapest guys they can find and then wonder why their trucks fall apart or, better yet grype about how expensive dealers are. If you payed some experienced mechanics what they were worth you could be paying half of dealer door rates or less for the same or better quality work. Plus get your truck on the road faster and making money.