Pulling Containers, running the ports in Florida?

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by KullenTrucking, Apr 26, 2019.

1. KullenTrucking

KullenTrucking Light Load Member

Apr 26, 2019
    South Florida
    Hi,

I’m a current company driver for a food service company, been at it for about a year. I’m very interested in becoming an O/O specifically hauling containers. I live in south east Florida.

My questions are:

How much can you gross weekly?
    How promising is the future over the next 5-10 years?

I need to hear the HONEST truth (the good, the bad) from drivers actually doing it.

Any experienced O/O’s that are hauling containers in my area with any info is highly appreciated

Thank you in advance

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. 77fib77

77fib77 Road Train Member

Jul 7, 2010
    St Louis
    We hauled rail containers it didn't pay well. Most people say ports don't pay well Todo locally. You get a step deck and go out to Tennessee and then come back it might be better.

4. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    It does not pay very well either. My short experiement with containers out of baltimore with Port East to Norfolk, usually results in about a 55 dollar pay from Balto to Norfolk 2am to 7 am to catch the ship and then end up sitting until approx 6 or so that night and come back with a 20 dollar chassis or empty to baltimore late at night 10PM and after. In a day cab. The earnings net each week supported the commute in gasoline and was zero income after expenses.