Question about the Heavy Vehicle Use Tax

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Unclehams, Oct 26, 2020.

1. Unclehams

Unclehams Light Load Member

Feb 7, 2010
    I am an owner operator/Lease operator in that I am buying my truck from a different source other than employer which is not technically owner operator but I don't want to be lumped in with the guys on the never never truck buy plan.

Driving 10 years, purchased truck after 7 years.

Ok Question.
    I leased on to a very small 5 truck company. They paid the 550 dollar yearly tax and took it out of my settlement. They said they included it with my paperwork but I can't find it.

I am now leasing on to another company, small company. They require that paper to fully register my truck so I can start hauling.

Is there a way to reprint it or what are my options? I can't seem to get thru to the IRS, is there a way to have the DMV - IFTA see that its already been paid or do I need to pay it again?

Any advice from one driver to a professional driver

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. blairandgretchen

blairandgretchen Road Train Member

Dec 9, 2011
    South west Missouri
    Contact the previous company - and get the receipt.

It took 3 months for my snail mail receipt this year, and I hung up after 1.5 hours on hold - so the IRS won’t be much help.

I wonder what happens if you have a 3rd party attempt to pay it again?

stillwurkin and cke Thank this.
  4. 062

062 Road Train Member

Oct 20, 2013
    It would be a lot faster to get a EIN and sign up with a online service and do it yourself.

5. Klleetrucking

Klleetrucking Medium Load Member

Dec 11, 2010
    S.C.
    I used E-File IRS HVUT Form 2290 Online and Get Schedule 1 in Minutes for the past few years before I retired, no problems.
    A real person always answered the phone.