Question about tires

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Peterman88, Jan 9, 2018.

1. Peterman88

Peterman88 Light Load Member

Nov 29, 2017
    Arizona
    I am in the market to buy tires for my truck. Currently they have 275-80-22.5. I was wondering what other sizes I could go with? For example could I put 275-70-22.5? I know dumb question but I’m a rookie. Thank you in advance

whoopNride and x1Heavy Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. rolls canardly

rolls canardly Road Train Member

Feb 7, 2009
    mt. pocono. pa.
    There are no dumb questions and you came to the right place.
    Go to the top of page search bar and try "Tire size questions" or similar,
    and sure to have been referenced previously.
    Best of luck out there.

Peterman88 Thanks this.
  4. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    Never say it's dumb. The only dumb is a question never asked (Such as how high am I?) before proceeding into a 10 foot high bridge.

Your first number in tire size is how much rubber is on the ground. (Width I think...) then the second number refers to the sidewall height. the third should be the diameter of the wheel you are on.

What you do NOT want to do with a 18 wheeler is have say 17 wheels of one size and then the one too small. Causing the one next to it to carry the full load on that wheel until it fails. If you had both duals too small then you might create enough of additional wear inside the drive line somewhere.

If the tires were wrong you might find that the 5th wheel is not high enough or not low enough.

It's a fine engineering marvel that you have a 18 wheeler on all those tires working together. Whatever size all of them are. That is the size you buy.

Don't be swayed by larger or smaller tire size numbers with the equal reduction in cost etc. A few dollars saved will create a headache later.