Question to vets and even newbies.

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by jimjam38, Jan 13, 2018.

1. jimjam38

jimjam38 Medium Load Member

Nov 6, 2011
    chickasha, oklahoma
    I have been driving since 2011. I worked with some folks who are old school back when a cdl was having your chauffer's license. Those guys showed me the ropes and I went on to go through a driving school to get my license. This is what I am wondering. I have worked at a few different companies and have done the OTR thing. What is considered a good rate of pay for an OTR driver? Percentage or cpm. I have asked drivers at shippers from other companies and the consensus is 27% on percentage for company drivers seems to be the response I get. Usually I get a .40 cpm response from those drivers. The companies I have worked for I was paid 27% (only have done percentage). I wonder this because my current company pays us 24% of every load. However, it isn't a true 24%. I found out that the line haul on the bills reflects the fuel cost added in. I have no issue on this, I am a company driver, they pay for fuel, so ok, but trying to actually find out what the line haul is before the surcharge is added is like pulling hens teeth. We only get paid loaded miles, no DH. Not really that big of a deal because we haul casing to rigs within 150 miles of the terminal. However, there are some times we may take a load from our yard to a yard in Houston (over 600 miles from us) then we may get dead headed 200 to 300 miles for another load, or heck even back home empty. They reason with us "That load going to Houston pays great" Sure I can see that but when you get sent back empty, even as a company driver, I know I am not making any money. I know lease drivers and O/O will say no way they would do that. Now having driven all over, I know part of the job is staying out. My current company will have us deliver locally (sometimes 2 even 3 loads) you get back into yard and boom get hit with "take