Questions about delivering containers from Gulf Port, MS and North Carloina

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Night Train Logistics, Feb 13, 2014.

1. Night Train Logistics

Night Train Logistics Bobtail Member

Jun 20, 2012
    Fort Payne, AL
    Here is a little history first.

I have been driving for a local reefer operation for the last 14 months mostly Atlanta, Ga to Denver, CO. on a weekly basis.

.31 cpm all miles, and lots a miles. 2800 to 3200 miles a week. Paper logs. Not great cpm but not really bad either.

Good equipment and no governing of the truck. full power and speed.

Loaded and unloaded fairly quickly within 2 to 4 hours max.

The truck owner has informed me because of increasing costs of insurance.

He is leasing his trucks, and me to a company, a relative that delivers containers out of Gulf Port, MS and North Carolina.

Same pay 31 cpm.

I have around 14 years of trucking experience, van, flatbed and reefer experience,

but have never have anything to do with containers and don,t know the first thing about it.

He did inform me I need a T.W.I.C. card and he is willing to pay for it. I think he said about $130.00 or so..

My Questions are.

1. What is it like getting loaded at these ports?

A. How long to get loaded?

B. Do I have to wait in line with hundreds of other trucks or is it by appointment?

2. Average length of haul?

3. Do you just deliver the whole container? or is the container unloaded and then you return to port empty?

A. how long to get the empty container off and get a loaded one on?

As you can see, I have not a clue as to what I am signing up for.

I have many more questions but I am hoping this will get the thread rolling.

I would like to thank all that respond ahead of time for taking the time to share your experiences with me.

And wishing all our Truck Driving Brothers Happy Trails..

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds