Questions about different jobs

Discussion in 'Hazmat Trucking Forum' started by michaelj123xx, May 9, 2022.

1. michaelj123xx

michaelj123xx Light Load Member

Feb 11, 2013
    Hello I’m new with getting my Hazmet just waiting for my fingerprints. I have been driving for 9 years clean record. I was wondering what’s better linehaul with estes or hauling tank with chemicals. It would be with hazmat environmental. Estes I’m worried about with their benefits I have a family. They wouldn’t share their benefits with me when I went to the interview. Any import or advice is always great thanks!

Last edited: May 9, 2022
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. tscottme

tscottme Road Train Member

Make both companies put you in contact with CURRENT drivers doing the type of trucking you are considering. Ask those drivers about company details (pay, schedule, cost of benefits, etc). No ad, nor recruiter comment is sufficient or more reliable than what current drivers are experiencing at the company.

michaelj123xx Thanks this.
  4. lual

lual Road Train Member

Oct 22, 2020
    SW Georgia
    @michaelj123xx, current hazmat tanker driver here....

Linehaul with Estes will be home daily. You don't give us enough info about the hazmat tanker option to know if it's home daily, weekly, or what.

With the hazmat tanker option--ask around to find out if the tank trailers you'd be pulling there have baffles/compartments in them--or not.

That will make a BIG DIFFERENCE in how difficult that job is (due to front-to-back, & back-to-front liquid surge).

I haul fuel, so the tank trailers have compartments, for different types of fuel. Thus--It's much easier work.

Also ask what kind of protective gear you'd have to wear while loading & unloading the tank. Do you need to wear a full "space suit"? Or just a hard hat, goggles/safety glasses, good boots, and/or long sleeves and/or gloves?