Sand Hauler/Oilfield

Discussion in 'Oilfield Trucking Forum' started by Jwill0105, Jun 5, 2018.

1. Jwill0105

Jwill0105 Bobtail Member

Jun 5, 2018
    I am very new to this but looking to get into the industry. I can get a truck and trailer and was thinking of hiring a driver to haul for me. Thinking in the TX area. I want to hire a driver while I stay at my "inhouse" job. What type of truck would I need to pull a sand hauler and what is recommended?
    Also if I buy used what brands should I look at and whats a good mileage for any sleeper truck 2010 - 2018)
    As far as how much I can make(approximately) per truck and on average how much am I paying a driver per week?

Thanks in advance

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. SavageMuffin

SavageMuffin Medium Load Member

Jan 11, 2018
    MS
    Hauling sand in Sand Boxes or pneumatics?

Ever drove in the oilfield?

Have you spoke to anyone about leasing a truck on anywhere and what it would require?

I know it’s in Texas, but in ND some of those places wanted you to have your own authority etc before they would let you haul. Some don’t.

If just hauling Sand Boxes I think any truck would work, seen all kinds out there.. Volvo’s to Cabovers.. . but we used Pete’s and KWs, 13 and 18 speed. Some also had wet kits for hauling water when it was slow.

We got paid per load...

Maybe someone with more experience will chime in.

Last edited: Jun 5, 2018
  4. Jwill0105

Jwill0105 Bobtail Member

Jun 5, 2018
    The truck would just haul sand from one site to another. When you say "own authority", what does that mean exactly? Sand boxes and pneumatics are different? When I search for a trailer and put sand hauler or sand box….pneumatic trailers come up. Am I searching wrong.
    And any sleeper cab would do pulling the sand hauler?

5. Jwill0105

Jwill0105 Bobtail Member

Jun 5, 2018