Seriously looking into driving but have a few questions, mostly medical

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by SinCityShooter, Nov 18, 2017.

1. SinCityShooter

SinCityShooter Light Load Member

Nov 17, 2017
    Las Vegas
    Hi gals and guys, I've been lurking for a little while. I was a auto mechanic most of my adult life. I'm now 57yo and my body is shot, and I do mean shot. I physically don't have the stamina to put up with the pain anymore. Here's the deal. When I was 21, I had a drunk illegal run me over on my motorcycle. For the past 30+ years I've dealt with the pain, but I just can't anymore. Now the spine is the problem! I've already had a S1-L5 fusion and now need a L5-L4 fusion but they won't do it because of fears of putting me in a wheelchair the rest of my life. I deal with bad sciatica with a non narcotic anti-seizure medication and it does a really good job.

Sorry for the wall of text....

For those of you with a back problems, do you find sitting/driving an irritant? I can run 650 miles in my light truck, not to many problems other than kind of stiff.

I'm purging myself right now of the opiates, they don't help my back but it does help other things that I won't worry about. I do take one med that I'm not sure off and that's the Soma, its a muscle relaxer. Is that off the list.

I do have a lot more questions, should I ask them in this thread or start a new one? Thanks guys and gals.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. luckystar

luckystar Light Load Member

Aug 1, 2017
    I know your anti seizure meds are used for nerve pain but are frowned against by most company's because they don't know any better. I'm not sure if those meds are on the list or not. I'm guessing your talking about Neurontin or Trileptal?

4. SinCityShooter

Nov 17, 2017
    Las Vegas