Should I go to private school, or company run to start?

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by darinmac38, Feb 2, 2019.

1. darinmac38

darinmac38 Light Load Member

Feb 2, 2019
    My situation is this. There is a private school just ten miles from me, based out of Raleigh. Carolina Trucking Academy. It has good reviews, runs about $4000 for completion. I have no driving experience, but this is something I have thought about for a long time. I'm ready to go and in a good place in life to do it.

Is it foolish to just pay for my own CDL training and then apply? Should I apply to the larger companies first?

My goal for going to this way is hopefully with my CDL in hand I can apply for some dedicated routes right out of the gate.
    My driving record is clear, criminal record was one domestic violence charge that was dismissed through a deferral program three years ago. (Ridiculous situation as I was innocent, wrong place wrong time, but technically is shows on my record as dismissed) no tickets, no accidents, no DUI's no other criminal marks on my record. I am 50 years old and in prime health, and physical condition.

Employment, been primarily self employed the past few years, living off investments etc.

I would likely be ok with directly applying to trucking companies and then going to their schools, etc, but from what I've read, I'd need to OTR for six months or more before trying for a dedicated route? I'm in a position to pay out of pocket for school as well.

Thanks!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Nukem

Nukem Road Train Member

May 11, 2014
    If you have the money, grant, or other such means to pay for your CDL first, that will open up your doors tremendously. If you go a with a company sponsored, then your stuck with them until the terms of contract are over with. You will essentially be a slave to them for at least the first year.