Sign on with carrier, or run own authority

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by W Bench Farms, May 3, 2018.

1. W Bench Farms

W Bench Farms Light Load Member

Oct 16, 2017
    I currently run my truck for the farm, moving hay and equipment when needed. I am thinking of running this truck more that it gets now, and not sure what direction to head. I have a small carrier close to me always looking for trucks. I also have my own authority, so I could find my own loads. I'm thinking I could sign on with them, so I don't have to worry about finding loads to start out with, until I get a handle on everything. I've been driving for almost 20 years, but always my own freight, or drop and hook type trips. I've never had to go out and find loads. Just wondering what the best step to take would be.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. RustyBolt

RustyBolt Road Train Member

Feb 21, 2015
    Bement, IL
    I chose to lease on for really one reason. I don't have the "people skills" to chase money owed to me all the time. Some broker doesn't want to pay and I'd be tempted to drive through his office door.

4. Doing_flatbed_nc

Doing_flatbed_nc Medium Load Member

Mar 3, 2016
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think you can lease a truck under your authority on to another carrier. That OOIDA place told me something along those lines--anyway.

If you have your authority, why would you want to lease on?

Get a load board like truckstop and go from there.

5. SteveScott

SteveScott Road Train Member

Nov 10, 2015
    You should at least sign up for a couple load boards to see what's moving in and out of your area. It will only cost a little and you'll learn a lot. Or call some shippers in your area to see who they use for brokers and give the brokers a call. Weigh all of your options and make an informed decision.

DSK333 Thanks this.
  6. Oscar the KW