Small Freezer ? 12V or 110

Discussion in 'Trucking Electronics, Gadgets and Software Forum' started by IronRydr, Jan 4, 2009.

1. IronRydr

IronRydr Light Load Member

Dec 1, 2008
    Does anyone here use a small freezer (freezer only) in your rig? If so, do you have a 12v or 110 and how well does it work? I'm a newbie and wanting to carry frozen foods for preparation in a microwave to save money on the road. The carrier I'll be working for does have inverters in all their trucks, I just don't know the wattage yet.
    Thanks!
    IronRydr

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. lostNfound

lostNfound Road Train Member

Jun 28, 2007
    Home of the Stampede
    Small freezer only? No. However, I do have a small "dorm room" fridge with a freezer section. I went with a 110v vs. the 12v because the fridge I bought at Walmart was $79 vs. $400-$700 for a 12v one (and I find the 12v ones to be too small in most cases). YMMV.

4. IronRydr

Dec 1, 2008
    lostNfound,

My truck will come equipped with a small fridge, but every one that I've seen, including a small 110 'dorm' fridge that I currently own, have a very small freezer compartment. Specifically, I was interested in keeping some frozen foods on hand... chicken pot pies, Lean Cuisine, pizzas, etc.

Thanks,
    IronRydr

5. Roadmedic

Roadmedic Road Train Member

Apr 4, 2007
    The frozen foods can be stored in the fridge part. It is not like you are going to keep 2 weeks of food in the truck. You most likely will have to stop and shop through the week. Space is a premium.

Some even keep can goods and microwave them as well.

6. Waterloo

Waterloo Medium Load Member

Nov 16, 2008
    Grass Lake, MI