Starting new venture as an o/on

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Kp21230, Jan 31, 2020.

1. Kp21230

Kp21230 Bobtail Member

Oct 12, 2019
    Just wanted to start a thread to show my journey as a new o/o. First, my name is Kevin and I’ve been driving for about 3 years now and recently got the opportunity to own a 2005 international 9400i with a Cummings Isx (freshly rebuilt) and 10 speed transmission (new clutch). The truck was my uncles first truck and he’s willing to sell it to me for 16000 only because that was the price of the rebuilt. I will be leasing on to a company that does dedicated amazon loads I have been working for them as a company driver for a couple of months and rented one of their trucks for 3 weeks to see how much I would make weekly as an o/o for them. Most of the routes are home daily with a few of them you have to stay one night out. The maximum mileage a day is 300 and it’s all drop and hook and trailers weigh no more than 20000lbs. For the 3 weeks I rented it the week was all local and after all expenses I took home 3200 with 1800 miles loaded and 40 miles deadhead the following was a mix of local and regional and after expenses I took home 4000 with 2200 miles. The company I’m leasing on is fairly small with 5 truck mostly o/os so I’m not worried about not getting work. This is my first time ever doing a forum post I’ve read countless post and topics on this site and have an idea of what to expect as an o/o if anyone has any advice I would very much appreciate it.

D.Tibbitt and Chinatown Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. feldsforever

feldsforever Road Train Member

Nov 22, 2019
    Welcome. Good luck. Buid a reserve.

kemosabi49 and D.Tibbitt Thank this.
  4. D.Tibbitt

D.Tibbitt Road Train Member

Apr 26, 2013
    Gettin' down westbound