Still being turned down for mortgages, time to lawyer up?

Discussion in 'Trucker Taxes and Truck Financing' started by Lennythedriver, Jan 28, 2022.

1. Lennythedriver

Lennythedriver Road Train Member

Feb 14, 2020
    On behalf of my fellow truck drivers I am considering taking legal action against mortgage companies who are clearly now discriminating against truck drivers for how they are paid. Although I don’t think it has anything to do with “how they are paid”. For those of you that remember I posted a thread about two years ago that I had attempted to get a mortgage and was declined because I was paid by the mile. I was told I needed three years worth of tax returns because essentially it looked to the government like I was a general contractor. Not being paid by the hour or a salary.

a little on me.
    My credit score then and now still remains somewhere between 810 and 820 consistently.
    I’m trying to buy home for less than 200,000 of which I have $60,000 down. I have zero debt. Literally I owe nothing to nobody. I have never been late on a single payment to anyone anywhere at any time in my life. I have owned four homes throughout my life all of which I have paid off in full.

The mortgage officer I spoke to yesterday said to me “in my 30 years of working in my position I have never dealt with someone paid the way you are.“ I completely told this guy off telling him there’s about 4 million people were over the road truck drivers who are paid by the mile in America there is no way it’s possible you haven’t ran into one of us.“ He just didn’t want to work with me. Fine. Rocket mortgage yesterday, same thing.

I also now have the three years worth of tax returns all related to the same job type, which is truck driving. Which is what I was told I was declined right before closing on a house by the underwriter two years ago.