Still waiting for a truck

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Avdriver, Mar 14, 2019.

1. Avdriver

Avdriver Bobtail Member

Mar 10, 2019
    Salem
    I graduated from Schneider's experienced driver training last Friday. My DM told me to head home (47 miles away) and call in on Monday for my truck assignment. I have called him twice already and he says that they are having trouble finding an automatic truck. He says that I am being paid for my wait time but I do not see how that is possible. I really want to work for this company but I cannot just be sitting here every day and wait for them to find a truck. Any advice?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. ZVar

ZVar Road Train Member

Sep 10, 2010
    Flint, MI
    Why wait for an auto? Get in a manual and hammer down.
    Also you should be calling 2-4 times a day, not 2 times a week.....

4. Avdriver

Avdriver Bobtail Member

Mar 10, 2019
    Salem
    They made everyone in my graduating class sign a form that said we would only drive auto. We also had to agree that if anyone in the company tried to get us to drive manual we would refuse until and auto was available. I don't mind because I prefer auto.

tscottme Thanks this.
  5. ZVar

ZVar Road Train Member

Sep 10, 2010
    Flint, MI
    Well that blows. Go find a real job that doesn't limit you. Heck even if you did schooling via Schneider still go find a real job unless they set you up with an auto restriction on your license.
    At the end of the year you will likely be making more money even paying back that loan.

Also, why would you sign such a document? Was there a payment incentive to do so? I can't see why someone would voluntarily limit themself with no compensation.

buddyd157, kylefitzy, JReding and 4 others Thank this.
  6. Puppage

Puppage Road Train Member

Aug 2, 2012
    Connecticut
    Great advice!

buddyd157 and Bean Jr. Thank this.