Super singles to doubles

Discussion in 'Heavy Duty Diesel Truck Mechanics Forum' started by RGVTrucker956, Jun 21, 2020.

1. RGVTrucker956

RGVTrucker956 Bobtail Member

Sep 17, 2016
    So I changed my super single tires on my trailer to doubles & they are a couple of inches sticking out from trailer. Anyone know what I have to do in order to fix this ? ‍♂️
    upload_2020-6-21_21-31-39.jpeg
    upload_2020-6-21_21-32-20.jpeg

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Goodysnap

Goodysnap Road Train Member

Jul 12, 2017
    I'm no trailer expert but I would say your hubs are offset specifically for singles. Most likely changing hubs would be needed. I would contact the trailer manufacturer. Might cost more than its worth, if its even possible.

Looks cool........but not legal.

stwik, Tb0n3, PE_T and 3 others Thank this.
  4. spsauerland

spsauerland Road Train Member

May 31, 2010
    West Harrison, In
    You need narrower trailer axles, axles were designed for wide base wheels. Bummer.

Tb0n3, PE_T and Goodysnap Thank this.
  5. baha

baha Road Train Member

Jul 25, 2013
    ga
    If its a 102in. wide trailer you may have to put the super singles back on till you can buy a set of the narrow axles from truck used parts yard?

Tb0n3 and PE_T Thank this.
  6. PE_T

PE_T Road Train Member

What made you change to duals? Just wondering. Lots of blowouts?

Bean Jr. and Tb0n3 Thank this.
  7. Trucker2211

Trucker2211 Light Load Member

Mar 3, 2015
    Whoever came up with these super singles needs smacked up side their head! Those things are a death wish. Went from duals to super singles one time and had a mini heart attack during every single turn on interstate. They had a negative offset I guess and set inward 2-3” on both sides so I lost a ton of stability. Needless to say, they didn’t last very long on my rig.

ajax1337 and PE_T Thank this.
  8. PE_T

PE_T Road Train Member