Surrendering health card?

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by yb_colt, Aug 22, 2018.

1. yb_colt

yb_colt Bobtail Member

Aug 22, 2018
    I will start off and say I have never driven over the road. I have been a diesel tech in the O&G, mining and construction fields for the past 25 years. I have always kept a clean and insureable driving record to maintain a CDL. Possibly as a backup if something like this happened.

So I have run into some health problems that remove me from the workforce in my line of work.
    Lung issues from years of working around dust, exhaust, chemicals have taken hold. At 45 and have never smoked a cigarette in my life it has hit me pretty hard.
    I’m scripted 3 liters of O2 in the day and 2 liters at night. Hypoxia, syncope and pulmonary hypertension are the concerning factors.

I can hike a 5k in the hills at a 15 min mile pace with supplement O2. It’s a great struggle to even finish without.
    Can you maintain a health card in my situation?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. MACK E-6

MACK E-6 Moderator Staff Member

Sep 19, 2005
    Baltimore, MD
    As long as you can pass the physical, you’re good.

4. foggy

foggy Medium Load Member

Sep 2, 2013
    Don't know of any drivers using oxygen while driving...just have to ask a safety man or dot doc.

5. dibstr

dibstr Road Train Member

Sep 10, 2010
    Mississippi
    Let the Dr figure it out. The Regs are vague. They state “Has no established medical history or clinical diagnosis of a respiratory dysfunction likely to interfere with his/her ability to control and drive a commercial motor vehicle safely;”

6. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas