Switching to TMC

Discussion in 'TMC' started by greenhorn27, Jun 22, 2008.

1. greenhorn27

greenhorn27 Bobtail Member

Dec 14, 2007
    knoxville, tn
    I have been working for Maverick for about 2 months now and they seem like a good company. My choices were origionally TMC or Maverick and I decided to go be a Maverick. I haven't had any big problems with them yet except the truck. It is an 07 but it's an automatic! I hate it. It has froze up on me so many times and got stuck in 9th gear once. I took it to the shop and they said Freitliner would have to fix it sometime. My problem is this; I just got out of trucking school in Feburary and I haven't shifted a gear since. Theres no way Maverick is giving me a 10spd manual so I'm thinking of switching to TMC just so I can gain the experience of driving a truck. I don't want to drive OTR forever and will try to get a local job eventually but I'm afraid I won't be able to drive a real truck then safely. I seen school as just learning the basics of shifting and was expecting to hone my skills my 1st year but I cant at Maverick. Am I just freaking out or do I make sense here?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. honor roll

honor roll Road Train Member

Mar 7, 2008
    NW OHIO
    You will lose the shifting if you don't use it I would try another company ASAP if I were you just to keep in the grove of shifting. If you don't use it you will lose it Good Luck

4. terrylamar

terrylamar Road Train Member

Oct 8, 2006
    Austin, TX