Tax time. . . save those receipts?

Discussion in 'Trucker Taxes and Truck Financing' started by seansolo, Feb 6, 2008.

1. seansolo

seansolo Light Load Member

Jan 29, 2008
    Cambridge, Ohio
    I'm pretty sure Owner/Operators pretty much can and do report everything for tax deductions as it is their business.

But what about if I am a company driver? Is the food I eat on the road, and other essentials (maps, logs, GPS, radios, etc) tax deductible?

Are filing taxes any different as a driver than they are for anyone else?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. jlkklj777

jlkklj777 20 Year Truckload Veteran

Oct 1, 2007
    Duncannon, Pa
    There are some differences.

To be specific you are entitled to the daily per diem which is currently 52.00 per day for the contiguos US and 58.00 per day for Canada. Now you may only deduct 75% off that amount on this years taxes. I believe next year it goes up to 80%. You must have been away from your tax home to qualify for this though. Meaning if you are a local driver and return to your house each day you may NOT claim the per diem.

As for your other expenses yes you may itemize these so long as the company did not reimburse you for them and they are considered "usual and/or customary" for your field of work. This means anything you purchased to do your job. Such as your CDL and testing fees. Maps, gloves, cb's, satelite radio, gps systems, small tools, work boots, work clothes (must only be used for work and no blue jeans do not qualify nor do t shirts). They are referring to uniforms that have company logos or are required by your employer. Your cell phone will be deductible as well provided you use it primarily for business.