The decision on buying used or brand new

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by DiamondDave84, Feb 18, 2019.

1. DiamondDave84

DiamondDave84 Bobtail Member

Jan 14, 2017
    Everett,WA
    First off thank you for taking the time to read this post and to give your insight on my hard decision. I've been driving truck for about 3 years now and want the freedom of Owner Operator. I've heard many people say not to buy new and just buy a good used truck. Here's my thought on this and tell me if I'm wrong.

Buying new you know no one has beaten the truck into the ground and you will have a full warranty. Very slight chance of break downs and just have to worry about general maintenance. High payment though.

Buying used you run the risk of buying a headache with high miles. Low truck payment though. Low payment could be offset with expensive repairs and lost days of revenue.

Please shed some light on this please.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Midwest Trucker

Midwest Trucker Road Train Member

Aug 31, 2018
    I’d buy a used 1 owner truck with a Cummins engine that you can get Encore warranty through Cummins on. Miles around 300k ideally and for around 75 or 80k.

Or, I’d buy a brand new truck. Kenworth T680 with X15 engine and endurant auto trans.

Lastly, you could buy something for around 20k and plan on spending a lot of money fixing things. If you know a good mechanic it could work out by keeping your startup costs low.

You going to lease on or get your own authority? What type of trailer and where you live? Gonna run local or OTR? All this makes big difference.