Thinking about making a career change to trucking

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by mtnman59, Dec 12, 2011.

1. mtnman59

mtnman59 Bobtail Member

Dec 12, 2011
    Redmond, OR
    I am thinking about making a career change. Always enjoyed driving and traveling. See all the ads for truck driving jobs. Seems to me in this economy why would they be looking for so much help unless nobody wants to do it? I understand... time away from home, sleeping in the rig, putting chains on in the snow, the responsibility for controlling a big rig in bad conditions, stuff like that.

But hey, my job aint perfect either. I'm a refrigeration tech. It's a young man's job, and I'm not so young anymore. Hauling heavy stuff up ladders to the roof while the snow snow goes sideways, crawling under houses and up in the attics, being on call in the middle of the night, crazy hours, you get the picture. I make a decent living, and can't just become a wal mart greeter. I need a decent check. I drive a LOT, have no tickets or accidents, and I can fix the reefer.

Would like to hear from some veteran truckers about the the job, the life, good and bad. Don't wanna jump from the frying pan into the fire, but I am intrigued.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. TennMan

TennMan Road Train Member

Sep 21, 2011
    Hazzard County Jail !!!!!
    Trucking is a lifestyle not just a job. The job is great if you can deal with being away from home, the hardest part for me. I don't mind the B.S that goes with the job as much as some. It's a love it or hate it profession. the reason why the trucking companies are constantly hiring is because of the turnover rate. drivers get into it and don't realize it's more than a job. Good Luck but be prepared. Merry Christmas.

4. Zoltan1a

Zoltan1a Road Train Member

Mar 15, 2011
    Las Vegas, NV