Thinking of going back to trucking

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by SoCalRed, Feb 27, 2017.

1. SoCalRed

SoCalRed Medium Load Member

Feb 7, 2017
    CA
    I have 12 years OTR and local experience, but last time I drove was in 2006. I see that all company that hire experienced drivers are asking for recent (last 3 years) experience. A starter company is always an option, but I'm trying to avoid these.
    Are there any good companies out there I can get hired at or should I swallow my pride and do 6 months to a year at a starter company? If so who are the best of the worst?
    I only care about miles, home time is not a deal breaker for me.
    Thanks for any help.

x1Heavy Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    Well. Don't make it about pride. Have at it if that is what you want. Go for it. So you do a little refresher and a time with a trainer. With your previous experience there is no problem showing them you can drive or back etc. Paperwork might be something else what with the changes to Elogs and such. I understand you cannot move a inch without Elogs recording it somehow. I might be wrong. My time was long before Elogs and 34 hour resets. That 34 hour would have been nice for me and wife again, we did not have that in our time. It would have cost too much money each week just to sit that long.

Build some savings. Make sure you find a company that pays you for the load you just hooked on to your 5th wheel. Soon you send in the loaded macro on QC, the next beep should be your netpay after taxes and option to direct deposit or cash for that particular run. You can then run it like a business.

12 years is plenty. I don't think you will be too worried about the turkey Inc of companies too long if at all. Someone would take you on.

scottlav46 Thanks this.