time allowed to report a spill of "RQ" substance

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by fishdog, Mar 17, 2013.

1. fishdog

fishdog Bobtail Member

Mar 17, 2013
    fish dog asks I am studying for Hazmat endorsement in TX. I am looking for solid information on the timeframe allowed to report a spill of "RQ" substance. I am getting conflicting answers. The question on this site's practice exam says 15days. I researhed the PHMSA & DOT & that states 12 hrs on telephonic incident report and 30 days on written report. Anyone had to deal with this directly? What is the bottom line on this ?

Chinatown Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. losttrucker

losttrucker Road Train Member

Mar 9, 2008
    greenville,nc

Did you really just refer to yourself in 3rd person???

kylefitzy Thanks this.
  4. Diesel Dave

Diesel Dave Last Few of the OUTLAWS

Jan 20, 2010
    Hesperia, Ca.
    Diesel Dave says, Times 2.........

skinnytrucker and losttrucker Thank this.
  5. CondoCruiser

CondoCruiser The Legend

Apr 18, 2010
    Tennessee
    ASAP is the answer for a driver. But the book states you tell your employer ASAP and the employer has 30 days from the day of discovery in writing to the DOT on Form F 5800.1 (Hazardous Materials Incident Report).

Page 59 of the Hazmat Compliance Book. If you don't have a compliance book they sell them at truck stops or your first employer should give you one if they are a hazmat carrier.