Tire Tread depth

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Kevw45, Jun 2, 2020.

1. Kevw45

Kevw45 Light Load Member

Aug 1, 2019
    So, I'm a company linehaul driver on a dedicated route that has a meet point in between for a trailer transfer and then returns to the home domecile everyday. On the way up, I pass through a weigh station everyday, no station back down. We use the same two trailers everyday. Last week I wrote up one of the trailers for having the minimum tread depth on one of the grooves (2/32nds) on one of the tires. They took it out of service, but substituted it with a trailer with a tire that was in worse condition (illegal) on one of its grooves. They told me as long as there is a groove that has 2/32nds on it, DOT isn't going to say anything. I said b.s. and we got into it. What do y'all say? I have little linehaul, and DOT inspection experience.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. ZVar

ZVar Road Train Member

Sep 10, 2010
    Flint, MI
    The actual regs are "at any point" for steers and "when measured in a major tread groove" for all other tires. I.E. if there is a bald spot that means the tire is illegal as a single spot is less than 2/32. Here are the regs from part 393.75

(a) No motor vehicle shall be operated on any tire that—
    (b) Any tire on the front wheels of a bus, truck, or truck tractor shall have a tread groove pattern depth of at least 4⁄32 of an inch when measured at any point on a major tread groove. The measurements shall not be made where tie bars, humps, or fillets are located.

(c) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this section, tires shall have a tread groove pattern depth of at least 2⁄32 of an inch when measured in a major tread groove. The measurement shall not be made where tie bars, humps or fillets are located.

4. SmallPackage

SmallPackage Road Train Member

Dec 20, 2019
    Marion Texas